Content-type: text/html Man page of XConsortium


Section: (1X)
Index Return to Main Contents


XConsortium - X Consortium information  


Release 6 of X Version 11 is brought to you by X Consortium, Inc.


The X Consortium is an independent, not-for-profit Delaware membership corporation. It was formed in 1993 as the successor to the MIT X Consortium. The purpose of the X Consortium is to foster the development, evolution, and maintenance of the X Window System, a comprehensive set of vendor-neutral, system-architecture neutral, network-transparent windowing and user interface standards.

The X Window System was created in the mid-1980s at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 1988, MIT formed a member-funded consortium to provide the technical and administrative leadership necessary to support further development of the X Window System. In 1992, MIT and the membership decided it was in their best interests to move the consortium out of MIT and create an independent, stand-alone organization. All rights to the X Window System were assigned by MIT to X Consortium, Inc. on January 1, 1994.

The X Consortium is financially self-supporting through membership fees. There are no license fees associated with the use of X Window System standards and code developed by the X Consortium. Membership in the X Consortium is open to any organization willing to execute a membership agreement.

The X Consortium is a highly participative body. Members are encouraged to actively cooperate with the staff and other members in the design and review of proposed specifications, and in the design, coding and testing of sample implementations of those specifications.

The X Consortium accomplishes most of its work using electronic mail over the Internet, with individual mailing lists for working groups. Internet electronic mail connectivity should be viewed as a requirement for useful participation in X Consortium activities. Meetings are held as necessary, often in conjunction with industry conferences and trade shows.


Bob Scheifler,, phone: (617) 374-1010

Office Manager:
Janet O'Halloran,, phone: (617) 374-1011

Technical Director, Integration Technology:
Ralph Swick,

Technical Director, Application Toolkits:
Matt Landau,

Technical Staff:
Donna Converse,
Stephen Gildea,
Jay Hersh,
Kaleb Keithley,
Ralph Mor,
Dave Wiggins,

Gary Cutbill,



The X Consortium's activities and affairs are managed under the direction and oversight of a Board of Directors, elected annually by the Members. The Board is responsible for reviewing the achievements of the Consortium, approving planned work, appointing a President and other officers of the Consortium, and setting membership dues. The current Directors are:

Robert W. Scheifler, President, X Consortium
Dr. Forest Baskett, Senior VP of R&D, Silicon Graphics Computer
Harold D. Blair, Partner, Partnerwerks
Roger S. Gourd, VP and Chief of Staff, Open Software Foundation
David Harris, Director, Adobe Systems [ex officio as Chairman,
     X Industry Association]
Dr. Robin Hillyard, Chairman and Chief Technical Officer,
     Novasoft Systems
Dr. Chong Lee, President and CEO, Phase X Systems, Inc.
Don McGovern, Vice President - UNIX Systems Group, Novell, Inc.
Therese E. Myers, President and CEO, Quarterdeck Office Systems
Peter J. Shaw, President and CEO, AGE Logic, Inc.
Dan N. Turner, President and CEO, Petrotechnical Open
     Software Corporation



The X Consortium can be reached at:

X Consortium
One Memorial Drive
Cambridge MA 02142-1301
Tel: (617) 374-1000
Fax: (617) 374-1025

To reach the X Consortium public Wide World Web server, use the URL:

To reach the X Consortium public ftp machine, use anonymous ftp to:


Adobe Systems Inc.
Apple Computer, Inc.
Cray Research, Inc.
Digital Equipment Corp.
Fujitsu Limited
Hewlett-Packard Company
Hitachi Ltd.
Hughes Aircraft Company
IBM Corporation
Kubota Corp.
Megatek Corp.
Motorola, Inc.
NCR Corporation (representing ADDS/NCR/AT&T)
NEC Corporation
Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation
Oki Electric Industry Co., Ltd.
OMRON Corporation
The Santa Cruz Operation, Inc.
Siemens Nixdorf Informationssysteme AG
Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Sony Corporation
Sun Microsystems, Inc.
Tektronix, Inc.
Unix Systems Laboratories (includes Novell)



CETIA - Compagnie Europeene des Techniques de l'Ingenierie Assistee
Network Computing Devices
Quarterdeck Office Systems
Walker Richer & Quinn, Inc.



AGE Logic, Inc.
BARCO Chromatics, Inc.
Congruent Corp.
Diagnostic/Retrieval Systems, Inc.
Gallium Software, Inc.
Georgia Institute of Technology
Human Designed Systems, Inc.
Hummingbird Communications Ltd.
Integrated Computer Solutions, Inc.
Investment Management Services, Inc.
IXI Limited
Japan Computer Corporation
Jupiter Systems
KAIST - Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Labtam Australia
Locus Computing Corporation
Mercury Interactive Corp.
Metheus Corporation
Metro Link, Inc.
M3i Systems, Inc.
Object Management Group, Inc.
Open Software Foundation
O'Reilly & Associates, Inc.
ParcPlace Systems
Performance Awareness Corp.
Peritek Corp.
Petrotechnical Open Software Corp.
Phase X Systems, Inc.
SOUM Corporation
Tatung Science and Technology
Tech-Source, Inc.
User Interface Technologies Ltd.
Veritas Software, Inc.
VisiCom Laboratories, Inc.
VisionWare Ltd.
Visix Software, Inc.
Visual Information Technologies, Inc.
White Pine Software, Inc.
The XFree86 Project, Inc.




This document was created by man2html, using the manual pages.
Time: 02:42:46 GMT, October 02, 2010